In Florida, the statute of limitations, or specific period of time during which a personal injury lawsuit can be filed, is four years from the date of the incident or collision. If you do not file within this time, you give up your right to sue.
It should be noted the statute of limitations (as well as the process) for suing a government agency could be very different. Typically, you first file an administrative claim with the city, county, or state of which the agency is a part, and you may have as little as 60 days to submit an administrative claim. Usually, the government denies your claim; however, the denial notification letter will tell you how long you have to file a lawsuit.
There are different regulations applied to laws in every state and statutes of limitations may vary from state to state. For instance, in one state, rules may allow a person with a personal injury claim one year from the date of injury to file suit; and in another state, personal injury plaintiffs may have two years to sue. Be aware there are also certain types of accidents which might have a shorter statute of limitations.
Take the first step towards educating yourself about your rights and contact Lancaster and Eure for a free consultation to discuss your accident or injury. With over 70 years of combined experience in trial practice and litigation for personal injury in Florida, Lancaster & Eure has the knowledge and expertise to represent your best interests.